Critiques, not criticism.

02Feb09

Great post Lindy!

Lindy Dreyer, Chief Social Media Marketer for SocialFish, LLC responded via trackback to my original post about ASAE’s handling of @Tech09 at the Technology conference this year. I would normally just comment back, but I see an opportunity to demonstrate Repost blogging without being spammy. So here goes:

1. They listened. ASAE knows their members are gathering on Twitter, and so they are there, too.

I agree with you, but the interaction was a little on the low end. I love connecting with individual ASAE employees on Twitter, makes me feel like I am a part of my association. I also give ASAE credit for recognizing that there is a large group of us on Twitter and trying to tap into that wealth of connectivity.

2. They created a gathering place for Tech09 attendees on Twitter. Let me explain – by following @tech09, and following the people following @tech09, I knew I was tapping into the community of people who are specifically interested in the conference. Until Twitter implements groups, an account like @tech09 is the next best thing – especially for newbies who are not familiar with hashtags.

I obviously understand what a hashtag is, and recognize that others don’t, but by providing a link to the search of the hashtag they support newer users to Twitter in 2 ways. 1-You start to familiarize your base with the concept of a hashtag, and a Tech conference is probably the most appropriate/easiest place to do that. 2-By directing people to the whole Twitter stream for #tech09 you introduce people to the concept of listening before they start tweeting, which I find can be the easiest way to “get” Twitter.

3. They publicized a hashtag. For those of us who are familiar with Twitter, the hashtag gave us an easy way to engage with one another.

Agreed! Loved it!

4. They used @tech09 to broadcast conference-related alerts, and had staff using their personal accounts to engage with attendees. I tweeted with @ahissrich, @lisajunker and @reggiehenry. I know there were other staffers tweeting, too.

I tweeted with a few others as well, but I still come back to that it should be a real person. I would have liked to see a face on it. Reggie would have been a good choice since he was the “unofficial” host of the Tech conference. I just wanted to know who I was connecting with, I equate it with signing an email I guess. What I mean is I want to know who it’s from.

5. They responded well to Lynn’s criticism. More proof that ASAE is listening, and a very positive response to negative feedback.

I definitely appreciate the responses that ASAE provided to my original blog post. That’s the interaction I was talking about regarding #1.

Okay so there might be a little too much insight from me to be true repost blogging. What do you think? If so, I think I have another post up my sleeve that I can try.

~Lynn

Blogging Style: Repost Blogging
7 down, 18 to go. (Maybe, you decide!)

3 Responses to “Critiques, not criticism.”

  1. 1 tipid168

    I like your article

    Regards,
    tipid168

  2. I appreciate that, thanks!


  1. 1 Online Marketing Blog » Blog Archive » @Tech09 Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

