#asae10 The first 24 hours.

22Aug10

It has been a long 24 hours so far.

Well I’m lying slightly, I’ve been in L.A. for about 28 hours, but close enough I say.

I’m not a west coast girl by nature. I’ve lived on the east coast most of my life though I did spend my college years (plus a little extra) in Seattle. It takes some adjustment, much like when visiting NYC. Everything is bigger and badder in L.A. and #asae10 is proving that.

Yesterday while we arrived, the creative Emmys were taking place. It’s a little surreal to see individuals just walking around holding an Emmy. It is a bit breath taking to see one in person.

After a reception hosted by the awesome NFi Studios, we headed over to L.A. Live for the general opening reception. I will say it was pretty impressive. A couple of celebrities showed up to boot while we were serenaded by Melissa Etheridge.

Today is when we really got down to business though. The day kicked off with the General Session focusing on leadership. Most of the comments I’ve heard were that this wasn’t new information for anyone. I think it’s really important for a General Session to inspire, which is why I loved Dan Pink & Guy Kawasaki at Great Ideas this year.

Then came the YAP Flashmob. Video has been taken and will be posted. Stay tuned.

After a pleasant lunch with my colleagues it was off to prep a bit for the presentation I’m doing tomorrow morning.

Finally I caught a session and then promptly walked out after 20 minutes. It was about new marketing strategies, but, at least to me, these were new strategies he was discussing. Maybe it’s because he’s been in the industry for 30 years, but to me something that has been around 4 or 5 years isn’t new anymore. This may be me being a bit of a marketing snob, but I couldn’t stick around and waste valuable downtime sitting in something I wasn’t going to learn anything from.

Speaking of learning… I’m really concerned about the scheduling this year. Tomorrow morning (Monday) I’m speaking at 8:30am and unfortunately the majority of the sessions I was planning on attending are taking place at the same time. There are about 5 social media related sessions all at the same time. It’s slightly frustrating and making me consider why I came if I’m not actually going to be able to attend anything that is useful or valuable. I do know why I came though and that’s the chance to connect with my colleagues that I don’t see that often. The bonus for me is the education and walking away with new things I can learn, which is why this situation is so frustrating.

Oh well, off to a night of networking. Much thanks to the Austin CVB for supporting the Flashmob and for inviting us all to the reception they are hosting tonight!

P.S. I’ll try to come up with an actual insightful blog post tomorrow. ;)

2 Responses to “#asae10 The first 24 hours.”

  1. That is weird that so many social media sessions were scheduled for the same time. I admit that nothing on the program looked super-compelling; maybe Great Ideas is just a better conference fit for me.

    Have fun and wish I was there anyway!

  2. Maggie – You are truly missed. :)

    When I was walking to my session this AM, I literally passed by 3 different sessions that had social media in the title. It’s frustrating, but we still had a good crowd and got good feedback. In the end that is what really matters.

    I think Great Ideas content is better, but the Annual Meeting networking is top notch.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

