#ideas11 Ignite #2

13Mar11

So this is my second Ignite presentation I’ve been to in the past week (the other one being Ignite Baltimore 7). Since it’s kind of a firestorm of information, I’ve captured a key takeaway from each presentation. Enjoy! (btw, I will update with YouTube links when they are released)

freak flag-flying (what, why, and how) by Joe Gerstandt

Key Takeaway: Freak flag flying is rooted in self-awareness, it’s about knowing who you are. Do you know who you are? Do you know what you’re here for? Do you know what your gift is? Is there any evidence? If you want to be a part of change, you have to be willing to be different.


Failure Must Be an Option
by Jeffrey Cufade

Key Takeaway: So you want to make a change? What the hell are you waiting for? Look at abductive logic, the logic of what could be. If we are not willing to risk anything, aren’t we risking losing everything. “I know I can. I know I must.”


Don’t Judge a Mentor by Her Shoes
by KiKi L’Italien

Key Takeaway: Your mentors are all around you. Sometimes it’s the anti-mentors, the people that try to push you down that help push you to go bigger and become really what you can be.


The Meeting Environment of the Future
by John Nawn

Key Takeaway: Meetings should tap into all of our senses. Instead of fitting the meeting to the place, fit the place to the meeting.


Make It Happen Today
by Ann Oliveri

Key Takeaway: Ask for help and be generous. You can make it happen in 5 steps:

  1. Exhale. Stop. Watch.
  2. Expand your intention.
  3. Explore, be more.
  4. Express Purpose
  5. Extend the offer.


The Story of Your Life by Gary Rifkin

Key Takeaway: Storytelling can help lives change. If you have passion for you platform, your audience will take the ride and take action.

6 Responses to “#ideas11 Ignite #2”

  1. Love that your key takeaway was one of the points I hoped would most stick. Hope you enjoyed IGNITE.

  2. So *that’s* what you were doing with your laptop in the front table! ;-) Loved your write up about the session. Looking forward to hearing yours when you do it!

  3. Jeff – It was a really good session overall, and I have to admire a guy that took it to a theatrical level. Bravo!

    KiKi – Yep, yep. Live-blogging is my way of taking notes for the sessions I go to. However, there are some sessions I get so wrapped up in (or might be working through), I just wanted to make sure I captured you all for posterity. ;)

  4. Lynn, thank you so much for capturing these nuggets! Of course, it makes me even more sad to have missed Great Ideas, and the IGNITE presentations, but these are great food for thought. Hope you’re enjoying the conference!

  5. Lisa, never fear! They recorded them and they will all be posted online. I missed the first Ignite session, so these are only half of the presentations. I’m excited to see the first half as well.

    Same as last year, I’m in love with the conference. However, I’m finding it more difficult to participate since I’m a vendor and there are clients who still have to have their expectations met. It’s an interesting experience trying to balance it all, but I’m learning! :)

    Hope the new job is going well!

  6. 6 johnettebasham

    I think that everything posted was actually very reasonable.

    However, think on this, suppose you were to write a killer title?
    I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, but what if you added something to possibly grab folk’s attention?
    I mean 6 Geolocation Apps You May Not Have Heard Aboutů | SNAP Blog is a little boring.
    You should glance at Yahoo’s front page and see how they write news headlines to get people interested. You might add a video or a pic or two to grab readers interested about what you’ve got to say.
    In my opinion, it might bring your website a little
    livelier.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

