It’s live. And real.

27Jan09

I’m at the ASAE Technology Conference right now, attending a session given by Jeff De Cagna & Ben Martin, CAE on how to leverage social technologies. It’s basically going over the results of their report that was released yesterday at www.socialtechreport.org.

Please excuse any typos since this was done live… Also any links that haven’t already been added will be there later.

Monitoring blogs is the #1 thing that associations are doing in social media. It was only 51% of their respondents, but their respondents also tended to be more social media savvy than a “normal” pool of association executives.

They defined social networking as using pre-established or custom social networks, but also lumped in Flickr, YouTube & Twitter.

Facebook tends to be where association people go to interact with their members. Custom networks also have a surprising percentage. I wonder how people decided that they wanted their own custom networks and which ones use free services like Ning or CollectiveX…

The big question is whether or not non-members should be allowed to join the groups. Does this open you up for spam? I know personally with our association we allow anyone to join the group. The downside, you have spammers, recruiters, etc. The upside you start to include those that may not be members.

The average size of an association’s fan or group page is 357. Wow… It makes me feel good that we have a lot more than that but it makes me question my engagement.

Have you tried to engage those spammers to be more a part of your assn and what it does?

The average association LinkedIn Group is 264 people. But Facebook has more people who use it as opposed to LinkedIn.

28% of associations are publishing blogs. 25% say they have no intention of blogging. That’s a little strange to me, especially considering how a blog can increase traffic and SEO to a website. Though associations usually don’t have problems with SEO because they are usually niche groups. When you get to larger associations that deal with broader terms though, SEO could become very relevant.

At this point my internet connection became spotty and I lost some of what I wrote. But @maddiegrant on Twitter to get a little recap.

Jeff recommends that you go against what most associations do and DON’T (I repeat don’t!) use Blogger. This Google product is not bad technology, but their are better technologies out there. I’d have to agree. Having a personal blog on blogger and then this blog on WordPress, I’d have to agree.

Surprisingly, people engage better when you publish full text RSS feeds. Of course most people are using Google Analytics, but 15% have no analytics at all! How do you know what you’re doing well if you have no feedback?

I also agree with @MaddieGrant (her blog is here) when you said on Twitter that you can’t ignore your lurkers. They are just as active a part of your community as the commentors and creators. I read Brian Solis’ PR 2.0 and David Meerman Scott’s blog, but I don’t really comment. Does this mean that I’m not as actively involved because I don’t? Not at all. Lurkers are important part of your community. Remember the 90/9/1 ratio of lurkers/commentors/creators.

Trust is essential in your community. How do you inspire trust?

~Lynn

Blogging Style: Live Blogging
4 down, 21 to go.

2 Responses to “It’s live. And real.”

  1. Testimonial about the importance of lurkers:

    My mom is 69 and an avid reader of blogs, watcher of videos on YouTube and obsessive tracker of my tweets. 😉 Even though she doesn’t “know how” to comment, she is always calling me, pointing my attention to blog posts, newspaper articles, videos, etc. She has actually tipped me off to a number of things I wouldn’t have otherwise seen. For instance, she has a subscription to the New York Observer and twice now has pointed me to articles about Twitter or Facebook that I otherwise never would have seen.

    So even though she’s not providing this commentary/spreading these links electronically, she’s using word of mouth to accomplish the same thing. I’m sure she’s not the only one doing this–there are millions of people out there who don’t know how to comment, don’t think their opinions are important enough, or who just prefer to share their feedback verbally with their “in real life” social network.


  1. 1 Wrap Up of 2009 ASAE Technology Conference: Association Perspective | MemberFuse

Leave a Reply

