Weighing in on the Twitterbook Controversy.

18Mar09

After reading the Buzz Bin’s post about the new Facebook changes that bear a striking resemblance to Twitter, I’ve decided to finally weigh in. (Because I know you all were waiting for that???)

Here’s where I think the changes went ary…

Facebook’s focus was on lifestreaming, meaning it was about the things you did – what you became a fan of, what events you decided to attend, who’s wall you wrote on, etc. Now their focus is on the conversation between people (which the screenshots from the Buzz Bin indicate how easily that can happen around the right topic).

Well some of the people who have commented have it right in my eyes… The beauty of Facebook is that it’s about the people that you know, while with Twitter, it’s about the people that you may or may not know. Your circle on Twitter is much larger than your circle on Facebook. Compare my 400+ followers on Twitter with my almost 150 friends on Facebook. With Twitter, most of those people I don’t know at all or if I engage with them on a regular basis I haven’t met them in real life yet. Yet on Facebook, I don’t friend people unless I know them. My Facebook people get personal information about my likes, dislikes, what I do and what I say. The conversation is focused on me. While Twitter allows me to focus on what others are talking about or I can draw on other’s experiences & knowledge. Twitter is an exchange of ideas, Facebook is about what you do in your life.

Also a few little things that irk me:

“The Publisher” limits what an individual can do, or at least it feels like that when I use it.

I also miss the whitespace. Everything seems much more crowded, which then frustrates me more when I can’t find what I’m looking for. Yet on the bright side I have been using their little toolbar thingy at the bottom now to access my groups and Page Manager.

It’s hard to find things. I mean I know that happens with any site redesign, but I wish it had been more of a morphing sort of design, transitional, where elements were added & disappeared, and if they disappeared, Facebook would tell me where I could still access them. Besides FB’s usability isn’t that great in my eyes, but I’m only one in 250 million.

Fan Page walls – at least from the admin perspective, they’ve cut down character length considerably so now I have to re-strategize how I get certain information out.

Enough of the negative!

One thing I do like is that Fan page updates will start appearing in my stream. As the admin of a Fan Page for work, this excites me.

There are more landing pages & it’s easier to add applications to Fan pages. You can also decide what “tab” non-fans will land on when they visit your fan page.

I’ve got to step up my game now. These changes are a challenge, something new, so now I’ve got to get creative and not rest on my laurels.

So whether you like them or not (I’m leaning towards the not side personally), they present an opporunity to mix it up.

~Lynn

Blogging Style: Review Blogging
11 down, 14 to go.

No Responses Yet to “Weighing in on the Twitterbook Controversy.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

