Is there such a thing as too much content?

22Mar09

I subscribe to a few blogs that produce a LOT of content, I’m talking probably 10+ posts/day. That’s a lot to me, I can’t possibly digest it all and still remain productive.

Newspapers produce a lot of content as well, but they organize them into sections, sections that appear in every paper so you can always find what you’re looking for. Makes the content digestible, and people can pick and choose what they want to read.

At least for me I read most of my blog posts through a reader and I have it set so I only see the headlines. Since most of the time when I log into my reader I have like 400+ posts to dig through, headlines are important. I also have them organized into groups: Association Bloggers, Social Media Bloggers, Theatre Bloggers, etc. Still from some blogs I just get TOO much.

Even with scanning through the headlines I get overwhelmed. Sometimes I consider “nuking” it all and starting from scratch. Then I stumble upon a post that keeps me wanting more.

The individual post is becoming key to me, it’s no longer about how much content the blog produces. I think those that don’t post as often, but post with quality will be the ones that people will start to share more often. Good example of this is Lindy’s blog. She doesn’t post often, but when she does I usually end up bookmarking something or sharing her post over Twitter. She provides me with quality as opposed to quantity.

Maybe I’m the only one that feels this way?

~Lynn

Blogging Style: Reality Blogging
13 down, 12 to go.

4 Responses to “Is there such a thing as too much content?”

  1. I totally agree with you. A great example of this is Chris Brogan. His blog posts and tweets are great–but it just got to be too much for me and I unsubscribed and stopped following him. Lately I started missing him and re-subscribed–only to instantly have my unread messages folder filled with his posts. I skimmed the titles super quick then deleted them all, unread.

    The one thing that intrigues me about people who post that much is what it’s like to live inside their heads! I also like to play arm-chair shrink; when I see someone writing multiple blog posts a day, I can’t help but think “manic.” ๐Ÿ˜‰ Or at least ADHD ๐Ÿ˜‰

    The two things this blog posts higlight to me are:

    1) Blog post titles are VERY important, especially when you consider how many posts are in a person’s feed at any given time. If a title doesn’t stand out, it gets deleted, no matter how great the post may have been.

    2) I do make one exception to the concept of multi-posts per day blogs being overwhelming; Inside Facebook has probably at least 5 posts a day, but the titles are all very descriptive and I get a ton of great information from that blog. Off the top of my head, though, that’s the only blog I can think of that I don’t mind having many posts per day.

    Oh, and many tweets per day I’m ok with…to a point. I find people who tweet basically constantly around the clock-I’m talking about posts ever few minutes ALL day, EVERY day, to be a little overwhelming. I don’t mind, though, when someone who just tweets regularly goes on a tear for a while and posts a lot–it’s nice to see some activity from people you don’t usually see a lot from.

  2. I’m with you, Lynn. I’m so happy to be mentioned here because I’ve been very deliberate about posting only when I feel like I can really add something interesting. I find myself pretty boring, so that means I do less posting than I probably should…but I’m happy you’re finding value in those posts.

    Per Maggie’s comment, Twitter is different for me, as well. A tweet is so much easier to ignore. My type-A sensibility is not as bothered by dipping in and out of the Twitter stream as opposed to finding hundreds of unread blog posts in my reader. Yikes!

  3. Lynn I am with you on the volume issue. I have a life I want to live beyond the online world – oh and have a job to do as well.

    My grandmother always told me to leave people wanting more. She was coaching me on how to be a great date – and the same applies in building a relationship with readers! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    A firehose approach to blogging doesn’t create the white space needed to appreciate the flavor of the content you bring forth.

    Cyn

  4. God you’re good at putting things into words! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

