ABR – My New Motto

23Jul09

ABR stands for “Always Be Relevant”

I’m thinking about this because lately I’ve been receiving tweets from random Tweeps (not people I follow) based on keywords totally taken out of context, or that the subject matter of one thing is completely irrelevant to what I’m actually talking about.

Here is an example of what I mean…

I said: “@maddiegrant It might be a cheap mid-price range option then before my big laptop craps out on me. ;)”

I was referring to purchasing a netbook while I save up for a Mac.

Here’s the random tweet I received:

SOCIALBANGTWEET

Not super relevant to what I was talking about, huh?

So what I’m saying is that context is really important to engaging in social media. If you just start sending random tweets based on keywords (this particular tweet came off as a bot to me) you aren’t growing community, you’re butting in on a conversation without knowing what is going on.

So… ABR – Always Be Relevant! (and don’t forget to add value too)

~Lynn

No Responses Yet to “ABR – My New Motto”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

