Do I want my association on my phone?

26Sep09

So I think the next big trend (that is already starting) is that iPhone apps from associations are on the way. I already know there are quite a few, including ASAE, and even my association is working up something to compliment our annual conference.

My question is do I want my association on my phone?

I think apps that are event based will be helpful, but really only have a shelf-life of while I’m at the event (and yes, I think that is okay).

Would I go to an ASAE app for the latest in association news? Honestly, probably not. I don’t necessarily see them as my news source about what is happening in the association world. I see them more as a resource center, so if I had apps that compliment my view of them then I would probably be more likely to use such an app.

What it really boils down to (like everything else you do) is knowing your audience and, most importantly, HOW they want to engage with you.

~Lynn

One Response to “Do I want my association on my phone?”

  1. Well, it is good, however what about the other options we have here? Do you mind crafting one more article about them as well? Regards!


Leave a Reply

