Age doesn’t matter with Social Media!

23Dec09

So my dear colleague Maggie posted on Social Media Today yesterday concerning how social media jobs are perceived as careers for the young 20 somethings who grew up on the internet. I get Maggie’s point completely and in some respect I agree with her. It really shouldn’t be about age at all, but more about who has the skillset to get the job done. As with any position you are applying for, there are things that make you better suited for that position or give you an advantage, regardless of your age.

I saw a lot of comments about how Gen Xers & Baby Boomers are better suited for it because they’ve been working with Technology for 10-15 years. Well, so have I. It started with building websites in high school, using online communication with a 28.8 dial-up. Honestly, your age really has nothing to do with your experience and your propensity for using a tool while understanding why you are using it (the most important part). It can be a good gauge to start with, but in the end it is about the quality of what you produce, not your birth date.

Oh! And unlike Maggie, I can claim Prodigy cred. 😉

2 Responses to “Age doesn’t matter with Social Media!”

  1. 1 Cathi Eifert

    I have to add a comment here (and yes, I am Lynn’s Mom) – she was on Prodigy at about age 9 or 10 – and she hasn’t looked back. She is amazing, if I do say so myself. But to get back to the point – I guess what I am trying to say, I agree with Lynn, that if we have the interest and the experience, it doesn’t matter what age we are!


  1. 1 Tweets that mention Age doesn’t matter with Social Media! « SNAP Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

