I had to take a break…

04Jan10

… but I’m back now.

I know there are a few associations out there that are closed between Christmas and New Years, unfortunately mine is not one of them, so I decided instead to use up my vacation time and take some much needed days off.

I was Burned out (capital B intentional) and digitally fried. So instead of using my vacation to catch up on things, guess what I did…

Absolutely nothing of importance. I watched movies, spent some quality time with my boyfriend, slept-in (every day), spent quality time with my pups; all the little things that life is about, but somehow get pushed aside for other more “important” things.

I can be a bit of a workaholic, I’ve known that about myself for quite some time. I sacrifice myself on a regular basis for work b/c I recognize how important my job is. What I’m realizing though is that blurring of boundaries can quickly become no line when you work in social media. There is always work to be done, content to be created, consumed or shared, people to friend, etc. It was becoming too much for me & I felt way too burned out.

I’m not in the habit of making New Year’s Resolutions as I think you should examine what you do on a continuous basis, but I am reminding myself that this year I need to take time for myself and say enough is enough, when it’s enough. Allow myself to indulge in the little pleasures of life – like a walk that has no set path or distance.

So have any others felt burned out lately or am I the only one?

3 Responses to “I had to take a break…”

  1. I am totally with you. I didn’t take a total break from the computer, but I did like you did: slept in every day, hung with my husband and kids and–gasp–offline friends. I feel that especially now that social media is becoming such a big “thing” and there is so much buzz about it all the time on all channels, it’s way too easy to become totally immersed in it. I know I get on a jag where I feel like I have to keep up on Twitter because what if I miss something? Then I have to give myself the reality check–missing something on Twitter: doesn’t matter; missing stuff in real life: does matter.

    I constantly fight this battle with myself, but agree with you that balance is key and spending time doing “real” things connecting in real life is what’s most important–when you start feeling overwhelmed and burned out the best thing you can do is unplug.

    Hope you had a great, relaxing time–I know I did.

  2. I’m with both of you! I really enjoyed unplugging for a week (it helped that we trekked down to South Carolina, which took me away from the computer; and having seven kids running around, once you count my kids and all their cousins, kept me off the iPhone, too). Right now I feel completely refreshed and energetic. I’m wondering how long that will last, though …

    Lynn, I hope you find lots of opportunities to take time for yourself in the coming year!

  3. Thanks for the comments ladies!

    Though it seems like I’ve been slammed into the wall since I returned to work yesterday, I’m much more optimistic about it all and excited to dig in.

    Here’s to a new year full of fresh ideas!


Leave a Reply

