Well I wasn’t expecting that…

23Dec10

Admittedly, I haven’t spent much time on the ASAE site since it was launched back in August. I tend not to spend much time on there in general, probably because I get most of my value in the association from the people I connect with via the list-serv, the Associations Now magazine, or ASAE conferences. I’m sure others find more value in it than I do.

However, today I found my way to the site via the latest Communications section newsletter. (I’m in the midst of cleaning out my personal email after a long time of ignoring it)

One thing struck me and it kind of disturbed me…

There were 2 display ads above the fold. They were the 3rd thing I noticed. I first noticed I wasn’t logged in so I couldn’t view the content I was trying to look at. I then noticed where to log in, and after that noticed the display ads, which caught me off guard.

Maybe I’m just being sensitive here, but I don’t think I want any ads on my association’s website. It actually caused a sense of alarm in me. Enough alarm to abandon what I was looking at and write this post.

I understand from a business perspective that it makes sense to do display advertising on their site. It’s more revenue for the organization and in fact it’s something I’ve talked about in a positive way at previous organization I’ve worked at.

But I had never really experienced it from the member perspective before now. I’m used to display ads on websites I visit, because usually that is the primary source of revenue. I don’t mind it since they are offering me lots of great (FREE) content.

However, I pay dues to ASAE every year. I don’t want to be advertised to in a space that I consider something that I have invested in financially (the website being and online extension of ASAE, and my dues being an investment in ASAE). Maybe it’s just because I’m adverse it most advertising & selling, but it almost created a sense of distrust in me.

Am I just being overly sensitive? Do you have display ads on your organization’s website?

Photo Credit

One Response to “Well I wasn’t expecting that…”

  1. 1 Ashton Swanston

    I simply couldn’t leave your web site before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the standard info an individual supply for your guests??? Is going to be again incessantly to inspect new posts Richmond Roofing Service, 6731 Pickett Dr., Richmond, TX, 77469, US, 281-973-7855


Leave a Reply

