I miss you already DimDim.

09Jan11

Let me just say this… I heart DimDim.

For those of you who don’t know, DimDim is an online open source web conferencing software that worked in a freemium model.

Unfortunately for us fans of DimDim, they have recently been acquired by Salesforce and as a result are shutting down all free accounts by March 15th. Granted, I didn’t use DimDim that often, but it was my go to recommendation for webinar software, especially for small businesses since you could have up 20 participants in a “room” with the free account.

I know there is a lot of great webinar software out there, but for me, I also loved that DimDim was a startup. They were open source from the get go, and really gave me some powerful features to play with. Also, when I did use it, a lot of times it was with people who weren’t very tech savvy and since there was no download, it made their experience with the product good as well.

ReadWriteWeb also have a very interesting article about “the risk of free“* for businesses. They have a pretty valid point, though I disagree with the statement about loyalty to a free product.

Think about Facebook or Twitter. Those are a free products and have millions of die hard fans who are loyal. Loyalty comes through the service/product providing value to those who use it’s services, regardless of cost to the consumer.

I also won’t lie that this puts a little bit of a sour taste in my mouth with regards to Salesforce. I understand they have separate business objectives that do not include maintaining DimDim as a service, but when you purchase another company in the age of social media, you are also buying their community. A community that is full of brand loyalists and evangelists. I’m sure there are other DimDim fans that might be excited by the acquisition, but I don’t know if this shutting down of DimDim is really respecting what they purchased. In the end, the software/service now belongs to Salesforce, so they have the right to do what they will with it. Just wonder if any other DimDim users don’t feel the same way I do?

So my question is, do you use any free business services? Does the acquisition of DimDim make you re-evaluate how much stock you put into free services?

~Lynn

*For the record, DimDim did have pay accounts as well, whose subscriptions will be honored until their expiration date.

6 Responses to “I miss you already DimDim.”

  1. Lynn,

    Great blog post. I agree with what you’re saying above but have another point of view being on the consultant and Salesforce side of things. It was too much to post a comment so I posted up a blog, would love to know what you think.

    http://nimbleuser.com/blogs/Nimble_News/Nimble_News/DimDim_Snatched_up_by_Salesforce_com_-_Another_Take.aspx

    Have a good evening,

    Garry

  2. I love when my blog posts inspire others to write a post of their own. Looking forward to reading & commenting! 😀

    ~Lynn

  3. I don’t leave many remarks, however i did a few searching and wound up here I miss you already DimDim. | SNAP Blog. And I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s
    allright. Is it just me or does it give the impression like a few of
    the remarks appear like left by brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are writing on additional places, I would like to keep up with
    anything new you have to post. Could you list of every one
    of all your social sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  4. Hello there, I discovered your site via Google whilst searching for a comparable subject,
    your web site came up, it appears good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply became aware of your weblog through Google, and located that it is truly informative. I am going to be careful for brussels. I will be grateful if you happen to proceed this in future. Numerous folks shall be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  5. Hi there! This blog post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept talking about this. I’ll forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

  6. I am sure this article has touched all the internet visitors, its
    really really good post on building up new weblog.


Leave a Reply

