A Challenge.

01Dec08

So I was tagged (or memed) to share 5 fun things about myself by Chapter Leaders Playground Founder and SNAP member Cynthia D’Amour. So what I have to do is simple, share 5 fun things about myself and then tag (or meme) 5 other people to do the same. Think of it as a blog chain letter of sorts.

So here goes…

1. I’m addicted to trashy reality TV. Sure I like other stuff too, but trashy reality TV lets me take a break from analyzing the acting or directing, it lets me just be numb as I watch something. It probably unravels my moral fibers, but at least it’s entertaining. Some of my favorites are VH1 shows and the best I think I’ve seen is “Looking For Love: Bachelorettes in Alaska” (it aired back in 2002, no 2nd season, shocker).

2. 80% of my friends are musicians or people I’ve met through local music scenes. I lived in Seattle for 5 1/2 years and was heavily involved in the local metal scene. It all started with my old roommate and wanting to support her and her band. From there I met a ton of people and spent every weekend out at the clubs seeing bands every weekend, and I do mean every weekend. That’s changed a lot since I moved back to the east coast, but I still love a good local band.

3. I have an Edna St. Vincent Millay poem tattooed on my left calf that wraps around like a spiral staircase. If you meet me in person, I’ll be glad to show it to you, but to avoid the question “What does it say?” Here is the text:

Paris April 1, 1922
A mile of clean sand
I will write my name here, and the trouble that is in my heart.
I will write the date and place of my birth,
What I was to be,
And who I am.
I will write my forty sins, my thousand follies,
My four unspeakable acts…
I will write the names of the cities I have fled from,
The names of the men and women I have wronged.
I will write the holy name of her I serve,
And how I serve her ill.
And I will sit on the beach and let the tide come in.
I will watch with peace the great calm tongue of the tide
Licking from the sand the unclean story of my heart.

-Edna St. Vincent Millay

4. My lifelong dream is to own my own theatre company in NYC. I even have a name for it… Fallen Sparrow Productions. Right now I’m not on that path, obviously Association Social Media is what I’m doing right now, though I do a lot of theatre in my personal life. I would love for some day to get to do both, but right now I’m having fun with the hand I’m playing right now. 🙂

5. I own 2 pitbulls who make my life whole. Seriously, they are like my children. They are both clowns who would love nothing but to lie in a cushy bed all day long and eat people food. When I have a bad day, just being around them cheers me up. I spoil them a bit, but they are also very well behaved and treated very well. I know pitbulls scare some people, but they are the lights of my life and some of the sweetest dogs I’ve ever owned. They definitely have their own personalities, but that’s why I love them so.

Okay, so now it’s time to tag others. I don’t know if anyone I tag will respond, but at least it’s a good reading list!

1. SNAP Members – That’s right I’m challenging all the members of SNAP to participate in this meme. I think it’s a great way to break the ice with fellow members and fun in general. All of you have a blog available through the network, so let me know a little bit about you. 🙂

2. Janet Fouts – Not sure if she’s done a meme, or would participate, but I find a lot of knowledge from her and would like to know a little bit more about her. Twitter: @jfouts

3. Mike Volpe – I follow him on Twitter (@mvolpe) and love what he brings to the Conversation. I also love what Hubspot does, he’s their VP of Marketing.

4. Brian Solis – I found out after the fact that he spoke at this year’s ASAE Convention, what a bummer I had to miss it due to theatre commitments. I love his blog posts and his twitter stream, hopefully he’ll share a little more?

5. Derek Johnson – CEO of Tatango.com, I met him when he stopped in on a NTEN Water Cooler chat with Maddie & Lindy. His service is awesome and I like his prospective on what he’s accomplished. Also, if you want to follow him on Twitter, he’s @tatango.

So really none of these people are “association bloggers”, but I think we can learn a lot from them. Remember, associations don’t live in a vacuum and neither do our members. The tactics might need to be altered, but the principals are the same. I learn from reading their blogs and I think that has enhanced my social media experiences.

~Lynn



10 Responses to “A Challenge.”

  1. Hi Lynn!

    Thanks for playing! You are a very interesting person. Can’t wait to see that quote in action.

    I think you challenged some interesting people. Hope they decide to play too!

    Cyn

  2. I hope so too! ;D

    Thanks for tagging me!

    ~Lynn

  3. Hey, I’ll play. Here you go. http://janetfouts.com/diving-into-a-meme/

  4. 1 down, 3 + all the members of SNAP to go!

    Thanks Janet!

  5. Whoops–I posted mine on the wrong board–here you go:

    http://mizzinformation.blogspot.com/2008/11/5-fun-facts.html

  6. Lynn,

    Sorry for the delay in getting back to you about this challenge, it’s been completely crazy around our office the last couple of weeks. This challenge sounds really fun, but unfortunately I don’t have the time right now to participate. Hopefully you understand, just wanted to shoot you a quick comment to let you know. Look forward to keeping up with you on twitter.

    – Derek

  7. Cool! I’ll jump on and post something, but it will be later this week… I have something else to blog about tomorrow…

  8. Awesome! I’m excited to hear more!

  9. Why this web site do not have other languages support?

  10. Is there any information about this subject in other languages?


Leave a comment